Ottawa-20150621-01944 (2)This baby was found in the middle of Carp last week and brought home to rescue. There are several wildlife rehab centres that can take orphaned skunks and we took him to Rideau Valley Wildlife Sanctuary.

In the meantime, it was eating/drinking well, eliminating easily and liked to curl up under my hand for comfort. It especially enjoyed having its face wiped with a damp cloth–like mother giving it a wash after meals.

Ottawa-20150621-01961 (2)Cat Kaos was pretty upset about this intruder at first and stalked around while it was eating. I kept petting and reassuring him and gave him his own bowl of wet food, a treat. Then he went over to the skunk while I held my breath (and remained really close) and they nuzzled each other. Kaos was purring. Highlight of my day!

katherine